Home » Insiders Guide » Ask the Big Kahuna » Hawaii time difference

Hawaii time difference

Ask the Big Kahuna

“Answering the most common visitor questions”


Question:

We are coming to Hawaii soon and cannot figure out what the time difference is. Does Hawaii use daylight saving time, also?

Thank you so much!

Beth


Response:

Aloha Beth!

During the Daylight Saving Time months (second Sunday in March through the first Sunday in November) California is 3 hours ahead of us. During Standard Time months (November through March) California is 2 hours ahead of us. Thus, during Daylight Saving Time, when it’s 8:00 a.m. here, it’s 11:00 a.m. in California.

Hawaii does not change time during the year. Our southern latitude would give us little advantage (more daylight) if we did. Hawaii’s gorgeous sunrises and sunsets do not vary much in time throughout the year. In June, the sun sets around 7p.m.; in January, it’s around 6 p.m. Not having to deal with Daylight Saving Time makes life simpler–something we all enjoy here.

And in case you were wondering, in November if it’s 8:00 a.m. here in Hawaii, it’s 10:00 a.m. in Los Angeles, 11:00 a.m. in Denver, 12:00 noon in Houston, 1:00 p.m. in New York, and 6:00 p.m. in London! In May those destination times would correspond to 7:00 a.m. Hawaii time. For more about Time Zones, see Time Zones.

Have a great visit and I’ll bet that when you’re here you won’t spend much time checking the time.

Big Kahuna