Explore the Site
Insider's Guide
  Big Kahuna
    Question

Insider's Guide
  Hints & Tips
  Ask the Big Kahuna
  Best Hidden Places
  10 Best of Hawaii
  Hawaii Recipes
  Weather
  Time Zones


 

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Ask the Big Kahuna "Answering the most common visitor questions"


Question:

We are coming to Hawaii soon and cannot figure out what the time difference is. Does Hawaii use daylight saving time, also?

Thank you so much!

Beth
The Big Kahuna

Response:

Aloha Beth!

During the Daylight Saving Time months (second Sunday in March through the first Sunday in November) California is 3 hours ahead of us. During Standard Time months (November through March) California is 2 hours ahead of us. Thus, during Daylight Saving Time, when it's 8:00 a.m. here, it's 11:00 a.m. in California.

Hawaii does not change time during the year. Our southern latitude would give us little advantage (more daylight) if we did. Hawaii's gorgeous sunrises and sunsets do not vary much in time throughout the year. In June, the sun sets around 7p.m.; in January, itís around 6 p.m. Not having to deal with Daylight Saving Time makes life simpler--something we all enjoy here.

And in case you were wondering, in November if it's 8:00 a.m. here in Hawaii, it's 10:00 a.m. in Los Angeles, 11:00 a.m. in Denver, 12:00 noon in Houston, 1:00 p.m. in New York, and 6:00 p.m. in London! In May those destination times would correspond to 7:00 a.m. Hawaii time. For more about Time Zones, see Time Zones.

Have a great visit and I'll bet that when you're here you won't spend much time checking the time.

The Big Kahuna


Explore more answers from the Big Kahuna...

Do you have a question for the Big Kahuna? Click here to send him your question.
Due to the great number of questions, the Big Kahuna will not be able to answer your questions personally. Questions of general interest will be answered in future issues of the free TNT NewsHawaii Travel newsletter, and then posted here.

Or plan your dream vacation through our Hawaii Travel Directory: Big Island | Kauai | Maui | Oahu